America’s Fat Phobia Revisited

July 23, 2010

I am not going to go much into detail here, as there are already several well-written articles about how we as a nation have a lot of anger at the overweight and obese population. These articles are available below, and illustrate my point of my previous article, Fat Phobia, very well. Perhaps I did not illustrate my point very well in the last article, as many people got hung up on the airline issue more than the bigger issue of how our nation views obesity and being overweight. On that note, there is one person who had this to say about airlines singling out larger passengers for more money:

” “I don’t want to be pushed up against a thin passenger sitting next to me any more than they wants to be pushed up against me,” she said. “But the seats keep getting smaller. I don’t need all of the chairs in coach to be available to fatties in a comfortable way but I do think fat people have the right to interstate and international transportation just like everyone else.” ” (emphasis added)  http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/northamerica/2391531/WALL-Es-fattist-satire-angers-fat-pride-groups.html

America’s War on the Overweight

Glamour’s Plus Size Model

Who Says America is Too Fat?

Maybe it’s time to re-evaluate our attitudes towards anyone on the “outside of society”, including the overweight and obese. Maybe tolerance should be shoved out the door in favor of warm and welcoming acceptance…?