Weekly Weigh in #3

July 10, 2010

Posting weigh ins have not happened for a couple weeks, only because I didn’t have anything to report. In the midst of all my experimenting and baking, I went overboard a bit with my eating. And it’s a bad habit to get into–thinking that if it is grain free, there is a license to eat all of it you want. This is dangerous thinking, because even though it may be grain free, it is still food that can contribute to weight gain. So…I was not losing weight that fast. (Or at all…) When I realized what I was doing, though I still kept experimenting, I ate less of my grain free experiments and more of the protein foods that helped me lose weight in the first place.

This Week’s Number

In two weeks, I have lost 9 pounds and now weigh 240 pounds. Most of that came off in the past week and a half, after I realized what I had been doing to myself. In one and a half months, I have lost a total of 30 pounds! This is really amazing, considering that the only exercise I really get is walking around my property, going to mailbox and back, and doing my regular in-house duties, such as cooking. There may be some people that will claim that just doing that is what helped me, while others will claim it’s just a fluke. However, there have been some medical studies that have shown that exercise for weight loss just does not work, and that if you are eating properly, less exercise will help you lose more weight. The theory behind this is that when you exercise, your body is getting the signal to need to feed itself soon. It’s why you get ravenously hungry after exercising, and then when you reach for something to eat, it will more than likely be something high in carbohydrates. Read more about it here.

Evaluation

What made me lose 9 pounds in two weeks? The only thing I can think of is that I just kept to this plan, ate moderately until I was satisfied (not full) and rested more than usual. Interesting…when I watch the Biggest Loser, and watch those people kill themselves just to lose the most amount of weight, I have to shake my head. They are doing all the things that are hard and making it harder on themselves to lose the weight. I think that they would do anything they could to see numbers that I am seeing naturally, as a result of eating the right type of diet. 9 pounds in two weeks? That’s about 4 1/2 pounds per week.

My Goals

Now that I have lost 30 pounds, my body is starting to be in a pattern of losing consistent weight. I would still like to lose 5 pounds per week, but I’ll be realistic about it. Whatever my body wants to lose, it will lose it. At one point in the future, I will stop losing weight when I get to the right weight for me. I am guessing that may be around 180 or 170. I just want to have energy to live and not let my body get in the way. And really…isn’t that what we all want?